Alexanian group


Research in the Alexanian group focuses on the general areas of reaction development and chemical synthesis. Our studies are driven by the discovery of new and useful forms of chemical reactivity which can be harnessed for the development of powerful transformations and strategies for synthesis. Our studies emphasize catalytic transformations employing easily accessed substrates and common molecular functionality. Complex synthesis is also a focus of our group, as the remarkable array of unique architectures that nature provides can inspire us to develop creative solutions to challenging problems in synthesis.

Thanks for visiting our website! Please check back again soon for updates.

Follow us on Twitter, @AlexanianLab!

News and Events:

December 2019:

  • The lab welcomes first-year graduate students Hannah, Ashley, and Michelle to the group.

November 2019:

  • Our Manganese-Catalyzed Stereospecific Hydroxymethylation of Alkyl Tosylates paper has been accepted by Org. Lett. Congratulations, Hannah!

September 2019:

  • Our Identifying Amidyl Radicals for Intermolecular C-H Functionalizations paper has been accepted by J. Org. Chem. Congratulations, Matt!

July 2019:

  • Our C-H Alkylation via Multisite-Proton-Coupled Electron Transfer of an Aliphatic C-H Bond paper has been accepted by J. Am. Chem. Soc. Congratulations, Carla and our collaborators in the Knowles group at Princeton!
  • Our Chemo- and Regioselective Functionalization of Isotactic Polypropylene: A Mechanistic and Structure-Property Study paper has been accepted by J. Am. Chem. Soc. Congratulations, Christina and our collaborators in the Leibfarth group!

May 2019:

  • Our Cobalt-Catalyzed Aminocarbonylation of Alkyl Tosylates: Stereospecific Synthesis of Amides paper has been accepted by Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. Congratulations, Brendon!
  • Our Nickel-Catalyzed, Ring-Forming Aromatic C-H Alkylations with Unactivated Alkyl Halides paper has been accepted in a special issue of Tetrahedron in honor of Prof. John Hartwig's 2018 Tetrahedron Prize. Congratulations, Quentin!